First-Time Drug Offense Lawyers in St. Louis
St. Louis Drug Crime Attorneys – (314) 334-3807
When you are arrested for a first-time drug charge in Missouri, you might assume that you are not in too much legal peril. This assumption would be wrong. Drug crimes are severely penalized in the state, even when the suspect has a completely clean criminal record. Many drug crimes are considered felonies in all instances.
Rather than gambling your future on chance and the mercy of the criminal justice system, take action right now by calling (314) 334-3807 and talking to a St. Louis drug crimes attorney from The Hammer Law Firm, LLC. We are backed by decades of collective legal experience, including our many years spent as prosecutors. This unique history has given us insight into your opposition that most other law firms simply cannot claim.
Initial consultations are free. Schedule yours today.
Penalties for First-Time Drug Charges in Missouri
Drug crime penalties can be difficult to predict without a chance to study the facts of a case. Each illegal substance is categorized into a class based on its dangers and addictive properties. Drug charges and therefore penalties can increase based on the type of substance, the quantity in question, the location of the arrest, and so forth. For simplicity’s sake, we will take a look at the penalties Missouri uses against some first-time drug crimes involving marijuana, which is often penalized in a comparatively lenient way.
A few first-time marijuana crimes and their potential penalties are:
- Possession up to 10 grams: Misdemeanor crime punishable with a $500 fine.
- Possession of 10 to 35 grams: Misdemeanor crime punishable with a $2,000 fine and up to one year in jail.
- Possession of 35 grams or more: Felony crime punishable with a $10,000 fine and up to seven years in prison.
- Possession of marijuana paraphernalia: Misdemeanor crime punishable with a $500 fine.
- Selling or distributing less than 36 grams: Felony crime punishable with a $10,000 fine and up to four years in prison.
- Cultivating 35 grams or less: Felony crime punishable with a $10,000 fine and up to four years in prison.
Keep in mind these penalties are only associated with marijuana crimes in Missouri. A different substance, like cocaine or methamphetamines, will likely face even longer incarceration sentences and even greater fines.
Fight Your Charges with Us by Your Side
As can be seen by the aforementioned potential penalties for first-time drug crimes in Missouri, there is much on the line when you have been charged or accused. By allowing our St. Louis drug crime defense attorneys to handle your case and act on your behalf, you can increase your chances of securing a positive outcome and protecting your reputation. We will work tirelessly to land a case dismissal, sentencing or charge reduction, or a not guilty verdict.
We can explain more about your charges and options during a no-cost case evaluation. Contact our law firm to place one on your calendar.