Involuntary Manslaughter Defense Attorney in St. Louis
Unparalleled Legal Guidance for Involuntary Manslaughter Charges in Missouri
When someone in Missouri is accused of killing someone through recklessness or negligence, not the actual intent to cause harm, it is categorized as the serious violent crime of involuntary manslaughter. In many situations, this crime occurs due to a car accident, so other states sometimes call it “vehicular manslaughter” instead.
No matter the exact circumstances, the charges filed against you when accused of involuntary manslaughter will be a felony of some degree. Start thinking about how you can protect your rights, freedom, reputation, and finances right now by getting in contact with The Hammer Law Firm, LLC.
Our manslaughter defense attorneys in St. Louis have decades of collective experience managing complicated defense cases. We know the finest details in a defense case like yours can make all the difference in the end, so we meticulously pore through all available evidence, case laws, and so forth when crafting your defense.
Charged with involuntary manslaughter in Missouri? Get a free case evaluation with our experienced criminal defense team by filling out our online contact form now.
How Many Years Do You Get for Involuntary Manslaughter?
If you are convicted of involuntary manslaughter, penalties are likely to include:
- At least three years in prison, up to 10 years
- At least $5,000 in fines and fees, up to $10,000
- Multiyear driver’s license suspension if vehicular related
Involuntary Manslaughter Charges in Missouri
Missouri has two classifications for involuntary manslaughter charges: first-degree and second-degree.
2nd-Degree Involuntary Manslaughter
According to Revised Statutes of Missouri, RSMo Section 565.027, second-degree involuntary manslaughter occurs when the defendant unknowingly acts negligently or recklessly that results in the death of another. For example, someone who has never handled a firearm before accidentally bumps the trigger while inspecting the gun, discharging the weapon, and killing a bystander.
First-Degree Involuntary Manslaughter
According to Revised Statutes of Missouri, RSMo Section 565.024, first-degree involuntary manslaughter occurs when the defendant knowingly acts negligently or recklessly that results in the death of another. For example, someone who was intentionally speeding or weaving through traffic before causing a crash.
Missouri doesn't have a charge for vehicular manslaughter, but it is commonly used in other states. If someone causes the death of another person due to impaired driving, they will be charged with either first-degree or second-degree involuntary manslaughter.
Impairment commonly involves drunk or drugged driving, but it can also occur because the driver was using their phone. If driving drunk, the defendant can be subjected to DWI penalties in addition to manslaughter charges.
For Every Involuntary Manslaughter Charge, There is a Defense – Find It With Us
You might feel as if the criminal justice system has you in a corner when charged with involuntary manslaughter. Do not give up or give in. Call (314) 334-3807 to explore your defense options with our St. Louis involuntary manslaughter lawyers.
We can use our collective defense experience to work towards the best possible outcome, be it a case dismissal due to a lack of evidence, a not guilty verdict from a jury, or a significant charge and sentencing reduction.
The Hammer Law Firm, LLC is here to fight for you. Find out more about manslaughter defense by contacting our experienced firm today!