When Is Marijuana Use Legal in Missouri?
While many states throughout the country, have enacted either/both medical and recreational marijuana laws, Missouri is not one of them. Marijuana is still considered entirely illegal in the state.
However, Missouri has decriminalized cannabis to some degree. The legislation was approved in 2014 to rewrite Missouri’s criminal code so that the possession of ten grams or less of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of $500 and no jail time. These changes took effect on January 1, 2017.
Possession of over 10 grams but less than 35 grams is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum prison sentence of one year and a fine of up to $2,000. Additionally, a second-time marijuana possession offenses are also classified as a Class A misdemeanor offense—even if the quantity possessed is under 10 grams.
Possession of 35 grams is a Class D felony, which results in a maximum prison sentence of seven years and a fine of up to $10,000. Keep in mind, possessing this amount can warrant sale and distribution charges, which is considered a Class C felony that is punishable by a prison sentence of up to 10 years and a maximum fine of $10,000.
What About Medical CBD?
Missouri has passed a medical cannabidiol (CBD) law, which allows for the use of cannabis extracts which are high in CBD and low in THC for any “medical condition” for which a doctor recommends it, such as those with a seizure disorder. The law defines a “hemp extract” as a preparation of cannabis which contains at least 5% CBD and no more than 0.3% THC.