Skip to Content

Can You Be Arrested for Possessing Stolen Property?


In Missouri, receiving stolen property is defined as one who receives, retains, or disposes of property of another with knowledge that it has been stolen, or believing that it has been stolen. Similar to the charge of theft, the accompanying charges and penalties depend on the value of the items.

Common examples of evidence of receiving stolen property include:

  • Being found in possession or control of property stolen by others on separate occasions
  • Receiving stolen property for a consideration which he knew was far below its reasonable value
  • Receiving other stolen property in another transaction within the year preceding the transaction charged

Possession stolen property under $500 in value is considered a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by a maximum county jail sentence of one year and fines of up to $1,000. If the value of the property is $500 or more, or the individual is a dealer in stolen goods, then it would be a Class C felony, which is punishable by a prison sentence ranging from one to seven years and a fine of up to $5,000.

If you have been arrested for or accused of possession of stolen property in Missouri, our St. Louis criminal defense attorney at The Hammer Law Firm is ready to help you through the legal process. Take advantage of our free case evaluation and understand all of your available legal options.

Contact us and speak with our legal team today.

Share To: