St. Louis Statutory Sodomy Lawyer
Understanding the Statutory Sodomy Laws in Missouri
Missouri is one of the only states in the U.S. that recognizes statutory
sodomy as a criminal offense.
According to the
Missouri Revised Statutes §566.062, one could be charged with
statutory sodomy in the first degree if they have "deviate sexual intercourse with another person who
is less than 14 years old" - which, more specifically, means anal
or oral intercourse. Since this crime is a statutory offense, it would
not matter if the minor had agreed to participate in the sexual act. Under
the law, an individual under the age of 14 is not old enough to give legal consent.
The same would apply to the crime of
statutory sodomy in the second degree. §566.064 describes this offense as anyone age 21 or older, having deviate sexual
intercourse with a person who is 17 or younger.
What are the penalties of a statutory sodomy conviction?
Statutory sodomy is classified as a felony offense in Missouri, which means
that it is punishable by a lengthy term in state prison.
A conviction for
statutory sodomy in the first degree could result in:
- A minimum sentence of five years in prison.
- If, however, the offender inflicted physical injury, displayed a deadly
weapon, or subjected the victim to deviate sexual intercourse with more
than one person, they could be sentenced to a minimum of 10 years in prison.
- Maximum penalty of life imprisonment.
Statutory sodomy in the second degree is a class C felony offense in the
state of Missouri.
Contacting The Hammer Law Firm, LLC
Because of the potential for severe penalties, we encourage you get in
touch with a St. Louis criminal defense attorney at The Hammer Law Firm,
LLC if you have been charged with first or second degree statutory sodomy.
We can contribute more than 30 years of legal experience to your defense.
With so much at stake, there is no time to waste. Contact our Minneapolis
sex crime lawyers today for a
no-cost, confidential consultation!